The Shift

I hope everyone  had a wonderful Monday.

I had a very calm one. However, today I started letting the anxiety of college come over me. That feeling where you believe that life is  slowly closing in on you… ever have that? I have been having it daily due to the fact that college auditions are coming up. And I have some very important decisions to make. It is very frightening. But I still remember that life is bigger than that. You can not worry your life away..

One thing I know that always gets me back on track with positivity is the wisdom of Dr. Wayne Dyer.I happened to stumble upon his teachings from a friend who was giving me advice on meditation and new age thinking. Dyer is a self-help author and motivational speaker. I really learned a lot from his segment and was particularly drawn to his speech of “I Am”. Being able to tell yourself, “I am capable of accomplishing things”. You have to believe in yourself. His suggestion is to “run through as large an inventory as you can of the things that you would like to define your life. Then make the shift in your imagination from an I am not or I am hoping to become to I am. You want what follows I am to be congruent with your highest self, which is God.”

I love reading his blog because it helps remind me everyday not to take life too seriously. We have the ability to choose who we are.

And I close the night with some of his quotes:

  • “How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.”
  • “Change the way you look at things and the things you look at change.”
  • “With everything that has happened to you, you can either feel sorry for yourself or treat what has happened as a gift. Everything is either an opportunity to grow or an obstacle to keep you from growing. You get to choose.”
  • “You are not stuck where you are unless you decide to be.”

p.s. check out his film!

8 thoughts on “The Shift

  1. My favorite Wayne Dyer quote- “My belief is that the truth is a truth until you organize it, and then becomes a lie. I don’t think that Jesus was teaching Christianity, Jesus was teaching kindness, love, concern, and peace. What I tell people is don’t be Christian, be Christ-like. Don’t be Buddhist, be Buddha-like.”

tell me what you think

